RigBaseBuildsGPUsCan it run?GuidesBest rig for…By budgetRent before you buySubmit a buildNewsletterAdvertise

Mac Studio M3 Ultra 512GB (Geerling test)

GPU(s)Apple M3 Ultra (unified)
VRAM / unified memory (GB)512
CPUApple M3 Ultra
Motherboard
RAM
PSU
Other
Reported total cost
PowerPeak 261.8 W (DeepSeek R1 671B), 243 W (Llama 3.1 70B), 227 W (gpt-oss 20B), 223 W (Llama 3.2 3B)

Measured speed (generation tokens/sec)

📏 How measured: reported by the original source; RigBase re-checked the numbers at that source

ModelQuantEnginetok/sDetails
DeepSeek R1 671Bllama.cpp19.89
gpt-oss 20Bllama.cpp115.29
gpt-oss 20BMXFP4llama.cpp (Metal, llama-bench)115.52
Llama 3.1 70Bllama.cpp14.08
Llama 3.1 405Bllama.cpp1.96
DeepSeek R1 Distill 14Bllama.cpp51.85
Llama 3.2 3Bllama.cpp154.6

Numbers from Jeff Geerling's ai-benchmarks results table (llama.cpp/Ollama eval rate). Quantization not stated in the summary table. Power is peak whole-system draw during that test. The 115.52 MXFP4 figure is from the llama.cpp gpt-oss guide.

Source: https://github.com/geerlingguy/ai-benchmarks/issues/42
https://github.com/ggml-org/llama.cpp/discussions/15396
https://github.com/geerlingguy/ai-benchmarks

Blank fields = not stated in the source. We never estimate build data; GPU street prices above are separately sourced and dated.

Rent before you buy: try this model on a cloud GPU for a few dollars first: Runpod (referral link; sign up with Google to get the new-user bonus)
Compare: DGX Spark vs Mac Studio vs Strix Halo: measured tok/s and tok/s per watt

Quick answers: Can Apple M3 Ultra run DeepSeek R1 671B? · Can Apple M3 Ultra run gpt-oss 20B?